Empisal Overlocker S4D User manual

(UPDATE – here is the manual in one single pdf, with pages in order. Click on the words “single pdf”)

I hunted all over the internet for this and eventually responded to a classified ad (someone was selling the exact same model of overlocker) and asked her to please scan the manual to me.  How kind that she did! 🙂 — I uploaded out of order but the pages/pics are numbered so, with pleasure, here it is:-

13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

48 comments

  1. I’m interested in buying an overlocker, same as yours.
    Can you give me some feedback as to how it is?
    Any problems? I’ve read a few people mentioning that the thread keeps breaking 😦 I can’t afford to lose that money if I buy it and it doesn’t work.

    Hope to hear from you.
    Thank you 🙂

    • Hi — I have to admit I haven’t used it as much as I would’ve like to but I haven’t had any problems with breaking threads or anything – I’ve love it so far. I wonder if they maybe just had trouble setting the correct tensions etc?

  2. Really struggling with the machine. I’ve bought it brand new and only used it for about 3 months, and then it all of a sudden started to make a very loud noise and doesnt stitch at all. Took it back under warranty and they said it was the timing that was out. Used it for 2 weeks again after getting it back and last night, after changing the differential feed, all of a sudden while still sewing it started making that loud banging noise again and no stitches at all. What on eart am I doing thats causing this? Then it cant be the timing cause can timing go out after just being corrected at the shop?

    • Hi Madelaine – That sounds so frustrating! I haven’t come across that problem before. I’m glad it’s under warranty for now so that you can get them to sort it out or replace it. Did you try Googling for any forums that might mention this same problem? I hope it comes right.

  3. Hi. I can’t print this manual. I have been hunting for it since 2013 and yours is the first one I’ve found. It prints out too small. Please can you email it directly to me.

    Thanks
    Hilda

    • Hi Vanessa – I used YouTube videos to try and get a handle on tension settings. I hope you’re able to do the same, or that a more knowledgeable serger owner sees your comment too 🙂

      • Hi Julie what is the correct setting for cotton? It sews perfect then the upper loop snaps. Then I rethread and then it doesn’t sew. Getting so frustrated.

      • Thank you. Hope someone sees this and can give me more
        advice. I am going to try you tube now. The will let you no.

      • Hi Julie
        Please give me some of the links. I am playing around with the tension but cannot get it perfectly.

        And then my upper thread stitch is not reacing the left needle stich . The left needle stitch is just a lonely stitch apart from the rest of the stitching.

        help me pleeeeaaaseeeee,,
        Lenee Malan

      • Hi – as far as I know, a serger and overlocker are the same. I’ve only ever done a rolled hem on a regular sewing machine using the special foot… This overlocker hasn’t got the ‘rolled hem’ switch/setting that I’ve seen on other models in tutorials on YouTube. I hope you come right?

  4. I am struggeling with my overlocker also. Sounds like a problem everyone have the snapping of upperlooper and tention.

    • Oh no, that’s not good news. Did you also try the YouTube “how to” videos and the troubleshooting? I how it comes right – maddening to have a glitch when you’re trying to sew.

    • Hi Wilma, I’m sorry; after a quick Google, it looks like it’ll be a case of having to buy a copy online, unless you’re lucky enough to come across a kind person on Gumtree or Olx, who may be selling their machine and will be willing to scan the manual for you?

  5. Thank you Julie, I have been searching for a manual, after mine was thrown away by a thoughtless person!! My machine has always worked well & is a real workhorse. If the threads break, I re-thread & check my settings. Thanks again

  6. Hi Julie I also have a problem with the threading. My daughter gave the machine to me and I struggle to get it to work. I tried downloading the manual but it is to smal. Is it possible that you can email it to me as well. I would really appreciate it.

  7. Hi Julie. I have my overlocker for 19/20 years now and don`t have any problems with it yet. I do a lot of sewing. I lost my manual along the line. I just want to thank you for sharing your manual with us. you are a sweetheart.

    • Hi Elsie – I’m sorry, I don’t know a lot about the mechanical workings; I just love to sew. I hope you’re able to get your machine serviced or looked at by someone who can help.

  8. Hi Julies, I have an Empisal overlocker not sure of the model number since the day I bought it I had endless issues it seems to be a thread issue what thread do you currently use on your overlocker

    • Hi Linda – I see that some people online suggest using a strong poly cotton thread and others swear by a good quality cotton thread. I just used what I had on hand and didn’t get anything special. Sorry, I know that’s not much help! I did see mention that threads that give off a lot of lint/fluff can be an issue but dusting out your machine more often should help if that’s the problem?

Leave a Reply

