Heading across the pond?

After leaving my country of birth aged 29 and going through the crazy lonely hermit-like first few years of getting settled with no travel experience, no family, no friends near by…. Oh my word, the thought of relocating, even temporarily, to a whole other country (continent!) is rather breath-taking.

With the lack of business (read Income) at the moment, we’re finally looking into getting all documents and police checks and clearances required to apply for my first ever UK Ancestry Visa.   The only reason I qualify is because my gran was born in the UK.  I say “first ever”, not only because it is my first but because, once it’s successfully in your hands, you can reapply every 5 years just before it expires.  Or, if your plans/desires change, you can apply for full UK citizenship (or indefinite leave to remain) after you’ve resided in the UK for a full 5 year period.

With the medical/health fee added (a full GBP1000 – shock, horror), it’s quite a hefty cost just to apply, so we’re not taking this decision lightly and it’s seriously going to take some miraculous happenings to be possible at all.

Leaving my little dog is going to be heartbreaking but DH will not be coming with me on this first leg as leaving her entirely is not an option.

One step at a time!

 

Leave a comment